Last night Kazan - Reisverslag uit Kazan, Rusland van dereisvanpeke - WaarBenJij.nu Last night Kazan - Reisverslag uit Kazan, Rusland van dereisvanpeke - WaarBenJij.nu

Last night Kazan

Door: Peke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

23 April 2016 | Rusland, Kazan

The temple of many religions was quite impressive, it had a lot of different towers, domes and was full of complementary and bold colours, blue, yellow, red, green, orange, everything. On each tower or peak was a symbol of one religion, and i just could recognise five, where the were at least 30 different symbols. It gave a very happy and peacefull impression. We walked around but sadly all doors were closed. There was some wide area with a thick pack of about 30 cm snow after a railtrack, so I got this idea. I walked over the tracks and started making a ball of snow, telling David we were going to make a nowman. I laughed as if I were telling I got a little friend from mars, but he got very excited too. I remarked this humor more often with him, laughing a bit insanely about stuff he thought were complete crazy, he liked crazy stuff appearently. So I explained him to make the head as I were making the belly, next to the "legs" with a diameter of around 50 cm, which he found even more exciting. When he were doing that I ran to some bushes and got sticks to make the armes and eyes and nose. when it was finished we made a quite beautiful happy snowman, our new little friend. Ofcourse David started to make Photo's and I wanted to get a selfy.
When we were back in the centre David went to the kremlin, where I had been the day before, and I went to a cafe to write in my jopurnal. This didn'd work out because I felt a strange bit of tired, bit depressed and spacy in my head. Just couldn't write everything, so after two hours David was back and I hadn't done anything. We went back to the hostel to rest some, me playing a little on the half dead guitar they had. I don't know what it was, maybe I was just really tired, and tired of Davids crazy humor and wealthy standards, or maybe I was a little sick of the fish i bought at the platform from a old lady, wrapped in some plastioc foil, caried in her bag, during the train from moskou to kazan. But didn't have to puke and the next day I was normal again. So, whatever. That night I and David went to the very cheap kantine like restaurant and saw Sergye over there eating with his girlfriend. He invited us to eat with them. That was nice, talking about her camera and some cool photo's she had taken, and some other stuff. I remembered we talked about feminism in the Netherlands, and his opinion that it was bad, and bad for the society and all. He is a really good guy but has some old fashioned opinions about satuff like that. He is from a small village where every child starts to be in a gang from a very young age, drinking vodka from 12. He probably had seen and learned some very bad stuff during these days, but he is out of that living in Kazan and he is very happy about that. It is actually a really nice person, with really friendly means, but before I heard this I already recognised some agressive gestures or bodylanguage, whithout any reason or meaning to it, just a little agressive edge when he talks about everything we haved talked about. (camera's, music, Kazan, good food, the netherlands, history, his hostel, etc.) I thought that the little agressive atmosphere or i don't know, something in his moves, was because of his love for the hiphop and rap culture (which has a bit a agressive style). So, sorry anyway, (even in writing I get off the tracks in subject) he told feminism was really not good for the society and he was happy that in Russia feminism didn't really exist because they had good girls who know their place. His girlfriend was sitting right next to him and I think I noticed a change in the smile she had had on her face before.
After dinner Sergye took us to a beer bar where some of his friends were. The had nothing of the hiphop style Sergye had, some of them even looking a bit nerdy and shy. But one of the things I maybe learned most already, is that all my first impressions of poeple and places change later on, and people are different then how the seem to be at first sight. So the friend with curls who looked the most "nerdy" was a friend from Sergye's home town, also from one of the gangs. He was indeed not really shy. I heard from Sergye that going to Kazan was the best thing they had ever done in their lives. The friend told me he first never knew that he had curls, discribing he was complete suprised looking in the mirror when he saw it the first time "wtf I have curls!?" he told me laughing. I saw a lot of Belgium beers standing after glass in the restaurant and was telling they were the best beers you can get in the world. Sergye told me I had to choose one for him and me so he could try, David wanted too. When I chose Rochefort and the waiter was allready pouring Davids glass after my glass was filled Sergye asked how much it costs, 600 rubles he said. So thats 8 euro's for one bottle. Sergye immediatly told him he didn't wanted it, because it was simply far too expensive for him and asked if he could try a sip from mine. David was pissed then, at me, because he was one of these rich huys who is all the time bussy with the prices (he had studied economics I maybe already told before) and this was for too much money for one beer, but he had already got one.. I told him I could pay it for him if he liked, he refused ofcourse, and then I arranged I would buy him a drink tomorrow. That made him like me a bit more again. I really regretted this move, but I really didn't expect it to be so expensive. But when everybody tried a bit of my beer they were really surprised about the taste and aroma's and said it was almost like a liqueur. They had indeed never tasted something like that before (only some german beers) and were surprised it existed. So I made my point at least. Sergye told me after this it was the first in a long time he had dunken some alcohol. He stopped drinking completely 6 years ago after one of his friends stabbed another friend (and they both friends too) during a drunk fight at new years eve, hitting him in the heart and killing him. He Russia had a real drinking problem where many people are addicted and can get really agressive and dumb, forgetting who are friends and who are not while drunk.
After this one beer he took me and David to another bar with music, because he promised, where his friends went to a more silent place. at that place david and I ordered a vodka, beacause we hadn't tried a good one. But we chose the cheap one which ws probably really shit Sergye told us. Because of social reasions he took one vodka too after some hestitations. He told us he could tel the difference between a lot of vodka's because of his experience. Shit ones taste allmost the same as the good ones, but the good ones won't give you a headache the next morning and the really shit ones will kill you. This vodka was indeed not very good, but ok. There was a bit weird computer music made by a guy with a little labtop mixing some sounds live together. (Sergye was dissapointed we had to see this) and there was a small group of people dancing on it in the middle of the dancefloor. We were looking at it and then Sergye said you want to dance? David was a bit elevated because of that one beer. He alsmost looked real drunk, probably hadn't had a beer in ages. He imediatly told me to go, like "yeah, you go dance!" so i said allright but ou have top come too. "noo, nooo, you go dance!" "only when you go too" Sergye took this up ofcourse and said allright just lets go then, I hestitated one second ofcourse but went with him. We would never see all these people again so whatever when we embrass ourselves? But David stayed at the table so while dancing a bit,(Sergye telling me he had learned dancing in the hiphop scene) we tried to get David over. Surprisingly no one was looking at this long haired blond guy and chinese fellow. Finally david come to us but stood still. So we tried to get him dancing, telling him he just had to do something, sergye told him noibody was looking. But that reminded him of all the people around him, probably, so he got scared and went back to our table. Allright fun is over we thought, so we went back to the hostel.
Sergye went to the home of his girlfrioend and when David and I walked past the macdonalds, which laid in front of our hostel, david got suddenly really hungry, so he had to buy a bug mac. While we stood there in front of the window (which was actually 24 hours a day open) a russian guy and girl started talking to us. The were a bit wingedod idea to go along with complete strangers, bit drunk, at saturday night, but it was just 12 o clock and they didn't seem to have something bad in mind so I asked david if he would come and agreed to go to a karaoke bar for one beer, if it was close to the hostel. We walked to a really classy hotel and went to the base floor where we found ourselves in a even as classy bar with a little stage for karaoke and just a few persons drinking some beers. While entering the room David sayd he was actually really tired and wanted to go back. I felt sorry for him (but didn't like the idea of being alone) and sayd it was oke for him to go and told the guy, constantin, that I would stay to have a drink. When we sat down constantin started singing in the microphone and walking around to some other room, lefting me and his two grils (we picked one up on our way) behind. I remembered i promised lisa to call her before 1 so i went to the toilet corridor and after a 20 minutes talk I went back to the table and saw our drinks there untouched, but without people. I thought they were smoking outside so I started talking to a 50 year old man with a little dog. He was there with his son and a friend of his son, and he lived in amerika. But came from russia. His son could only speak spanish and russian because he lived in costa rica or something and the friend of his son, living in russia could speak russian ofcourse and a bit english. After a while my "friends" still weren't back and I went looking for them. They were nowhere to be found and I felt screwed, because I had to pay for all that drinks on the table ofcourse, in this classy place. But the man from miami clrearly had mony and told me he would pay the check. So I thanked him and drunk some of the whisy while talking and singin kiss with the two boys untill three o clock. There were nice guys and ofcourse wanted to know everything about amsterdam and how to have a good time there properly, I tried to help them with what i know. They even ordered a tax i for me to get home safely (because walking alone on the streets at this time wasn't safe).
The next morning I took my time because I would leave that evening and I just wrote some journal stuff. Sergye helped me with getting the camera too, because it was too short time for buying one in KAzan via the second hand market, so he arranged a deal in Yekaterinburg, which was my next destination, booked a hostel which he knew good and told me they would help me with translating with the seller.
Sergye made a little video of playing on the guitar as a promotion for his hostel (now to watch on youtube as slap bass at backpack hostel) and I went on the train safely.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Rusland, Kazan

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

16 Mei 2016

Murun

09 Mei 2016

Russian border

09 Mei 2016

Ulan Bator

08 Mei 2016

Irkutsk

05 Mei 2016

trip to the Tsaatan people

Actief sinds 18 Maart 2016
Verslag gelezen: 194
Totaal aantal bezoekers 10919

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Maart 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: